Bari, Fiera del Levante, 29 - 31 October

Also for its fifth edition, Medimex comes as a real music city designed on an area of 20 thousand square meters with 100 exhibitors from around the world, over 200 guests from 27 countries and 150 events in three days.

No less than 70 events in 6 spaces and 40 concerts on 5 stages, including performances by Australian pop star Natalie Imbruglia, Sicilian singer-songwriter Carmen Consoli and Hindi Zahra, defined as the ” North African Patti Smith”. And also live performances by some of the most interesting artists of the Italian and international music scene, including Kutso, Giovanni Caccamo and Santa Margaret. On the stage dedicated to the music of Puglia, the artists who produced a recording project supported by Puglia Sounds in 2015: Radiodervish, Erica Mou, Raffaele Casarano and Carolina Bubbico.

The 2015 Meet the Author events featured Brian Eno, who presented the world premiere of Light Paintings as a visual artist. His installation was on display at Teatro Margherita in Bari. Among the other guests of the Meet the Author gatherings: Gianna Nannini, Carmen Consoli, Ludovico Einaudi, the Sud Sound System and Vinicio Capossela, who celebrated his 25-year long career right at Medimex. This edition has also seen the participation of composer David Lang, the Deproducers (Max Casacci, Vittorio Cosma, Gianni Maroccolo and Riccardo Sinigallia), writers Erri De Luca, Gianrico Carofiglio and Giancarlo De Cataldo, and a group of emerging Italian music talents including rapper Ensi, Lo Stato Sociale, Francesca Michielin, The Kolors and Lorenzo Fragola, who won the Medimex Academy awards for Best New Artist and Best First Work.

In the Panels section Medimex 2015 hosted artistic directors and experts in festival organization, production and promotion from the most important festivals and live performance experiences on a global scale: Stacey Willhelm from South by Southwest in Austin (USA), Chris Garrit, the “night mayor” of Groningen, the Dutch city of nightlife and Eurosonic, Malcolm Haynes from Glastonbury (UK), Enrik Rasmussem from Roskilde (Denmark), Izzy Loicaono from Great Escape (UK) and Peter Smidt from c/o pop Festival (Germany) were among them.